Posted by: itsfood | May 22, 2007

Good Wine – Sainsbury’s SO organic Malbec 2006

Sainsburys SO organic Malbec

Organic. Fairtrade. They’re words we all know and I personally like to shop for products with the “Organic” or “Fairtrade” moniker whenever I can. If I had to choose one over the other then I’d choose “Fairtrade” over “Organic” only because the Fairtrade scheme encourages producers to go Organic.

The Sainsbury’s SO organic (Argentinian) Malbec 2006 Famatina Valley ticks both boxes being Organic and Fairtrade. It’s an averagely strong red at 13.5% at can be found for <£7 at Sainsbury’s Supermarket here in the UK. The Malbec grape is growing in popularity as Argentina is becoming the “new Chile”. Great value, great quality wines (mainly reds) from South America.

I personally think of Malbec being halfway between a Shiraz and a Merlot. It has the smooth yummy-ness of Merlot with a hint of edge which I associate with a Shiraz. This usually makes Malbec a decent wine on it’s own or with food. In this case I found I enjoyed this a lot more with food. Nice and mellow but with an edge that helped cut through the food.

Would I buy this again? Probably, I like the idea of Organic Fairtrade wines (although there are only some areas of the world where Fairtrade wine would be appropriate). This wine just swings a three star rating.

Sainsbury’s SO organic Malbec 2006

Grape: Malbec
Alcohol: 13.5%
Guide Price: £5.99 to £7.00
Available at: Sainsbury’s
ITs Food Rating: Three stars

4 Stars


Leave a comment

Categories