Posted by: itsfood | December 9, 2009

Christmas Wines 2009 Part 1: The Reds

I decided to splash out this year and spend a little extra on our Xmas wines. I spoke to my brother who knows far more about wines than me and asked him to suggest a decent red wine to have with the Xmas Turkey. I was looking for more than the Supermarket “premium” wine which usually costs £10-£15.

One suggestion soon turned into a few more and before I knew it I had an 18 bottle order with Hailsham Cellars. Adding this massive order to some wines I already had plus some extras from Majestic and Sainsbury’s means that this year we have an excellent selection for the festive season.

Some of the highlights this year are as follows…

Torbreck The Struie 2006

Torbreck The Struie 2006

Torbreck The Struie 2006

This is the main wine chosen for our Xmas lunch. This 100% Shiraz will help cut through any “fatty-ness”. At 14.5% it’s a heavy duty red which you really need with the calorie-fest that is Xmas lunch. Tasting notes can be found here. Price: ~£24 (Hailsham Cellars)

Ridge Geyserville 2005

Ridge Geyserville 2005

Ridge Geyserville 2005

You will probably know I’m currently a HUGE fan of Zinfandel. I was unable to source any Turleys Old Vine Zinfandel so the classic Ridge Vineyards were chosen for their excellent Geyserville. It’s a blend of 77% Zinfandel, 17% Carignane and 6% Petite Sirah, some simple tasting notes available here. Prince: ~£24 (Hailsham Cellars)

D’Arenberg The Dead Arm Shiraz 2006

D'Arenberg The Dead Arm Shiraz 2006

D'Arenberg The Dead Arm Shiraz 2006

Another BIG Shiraz, this time from D’Arenberg. I had some of their Laughing Magpie a while back and was not too impressed so this wine was only bought after being described as “fantastic” by my brother. We will see! Tasting notes are here. Price ~£24 (Hailsham Cellars)

Bodega Catena Zapata Catena Alta Malbec 2005

Bodega Catena Zapata Catena Alta Malbec 2005

Bodega Catena Zapata Catena Alta Malbec 2005

It says a lot for Argentinian wines when the most expensive wine I bought was an Argentinian 100% Malbec. A lot of you may have picked up a cheap Argentinian Malbec in the past but may have not seen many/any premium brands. This again is a BIG red so I think this will possibly be our New Year wine to be served with a 7 Hour Slow Roasted Shoulder Of Pork (bone in). Simple notes on the wine available here. Price ~£27 (Hailsham Cellars)

Grant Burge The Holy Trinity Grenache Shiraz Mourvèdre 2003

Grant Burge The Holy Trinity Grenache Shiraz Mourvedre 2003

Grant Burge The Holy Trinity Grenache Shiraz Mourvedre 2003

Moving into slightly cheaper waters now (or should that be wines?). I liked the sound of this blend of 39% Grenache, 36% Shiraz and 25% Mourvedre. It’s suggested that this is matched with strong game so I may have this with some nice venison or duck, I’m looking forward to trying this. Tasting notes are here. Price <£15 (Hailsham Cellars)

Shaw and Smith Adelaide Hills Shiraz 2007

Shaw and Smith Adelaide Hills Shiraz 2007

Shaw and Smith Adelaide Hills Shiraz 2007

It was at this point that I realised my brother liked his Shiraz! I love that the notes for this wine mention Macclesfield! I doubt it’s the one I’m thinking of. Probably a “back-up” wine but I’m interested to try this some time over the festive season. Price <£15 (Hailsham Cellars)

De Bortoli Yarra Valley Shiraz Viognier 2006

De Bortoli Yarra Valley Shiraz Viognier 2006

De Bortoli Yarra Valley Shiraz Viognier 2006

Yes, ANOTHER Shiraz for the person who prefers his Merlot’s and Zinfandels…! This time it’s mixed with Viognier which should add some subtleness to the wine. Perfect with lamb I reckon. Wine info here. Price <£15 (Hailsham Cellars)

Coming next…

The Whites, The Fizz and The Stickies…

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

